Ligue 1 Team of the Year 2012-2013: Revealed

After much toing and froing, the results of our Ligue 1 Team of the Year 2012-2013 are finally announced.

Ligue 1 Team of the Year 2012-2013:

(Click on the link for each player to read his comprehensive ‘Ligue 1 Team of the Year’ profile.)

Goalkeeper: Salvatore Sirigu (PSG)

Left-back: Lucas Digne (Lille)

Centre-back: Nicolas N’Koulou (Marseille)

Centre-back: Thiago Silva (PSG)

Right-back: Sebastien Corchia (Sochaux)

Left midfielder: Dimitri Payet (Lille)

Central midfielder: Blaise Matuidi (PSG)

Central midfielder: Mathieu Valbuena (Marseille)

RIght midfielder: Florian Thauvin (SC Bastia)

Centre forward: Zlatan Ibrahimovic (PSG)

Centre forward: Pierre Emerick Aubameyang (Saint Etienne)

Manager: Claude Puel (OGC Nice)


Many thanks to all members of the public who voted and to all the brilliant experts who came together to form a panel to nominate and then vote for their Ligue 1 Team of the Year’s.

How did it work?

A total of 31 French football experts have submitted a squad of 22 players (plus 2 managers) who they believe deserve nominations for this season’s Ligue 1 Team of the Year. These nominations have been collected and have been thinned down to the top 24 most picked players/managers. From this, the team of experts voted for their best XI.

To find out who was on the panel of French Football experts, click here.

More European Football News