« Back

Nathalie Boy de la Tour appointed LFP President

The French football league has announced the appointment of Nathalie Boy de la Tour as interim president, with Michel Seydoux set to take up the position upon the sale of LOSC Lille, the Ligue 1 club that he owns.

Boy de la Tour becomes the first ever female president of a football league in Europe.

There was drama this morning when the board of directors voted to elect former France boss Raymond Domenech as the new LFP President, a decision that was annulled by the General Assembly. It has since turned out that certain members of the Board of Directors only put Domenech forward to force other members to accept the eventual appointment of Nathalie Boy de la Tour. Classic boardroom politics, seemingly executed by Lyon President Jean Michel Aulas.

The LFP also elected its board of directors today for the next 4 years. See the full list below:

Nasser Al Khelaifi (PSG)

Jean Michel Aulas (Lyon)

Vadim Vasilyev (AS Monaco)

Jean Pierre Rivère (OGC Nice)

Bernard Desplat (EA Guingamp)

Jean-François Fortin (SM Caen)

Laurent Nicollin (Montpellier HSC)

René Ruello (Stade Rennais)

Latest news