France Football create Ballon D’Or Award for goalkeepers: Trophée Yachine

France Football have today announced the creation of a new Ballon D’Or award dedicated entirely to goalkeepers called the Trophée Yachine.

The award will be given out on a yearly basis and the first ever 10 finalists for it will be announced on October 21st.

It is currently unclear whether or not goalkeepers will also still be able to be nominated for the main Ballon D’Or award.

The prize has been named after Lev Yachine, the only goalkeeper in footballing history to have won the Ballon D’Or, doing so in 1963.

Yachine died in 1990 at the age of 60, but remains the only shot-stopper to have ever won the main prize.



More European Football News