2021 Ballon d’Or voting details

As covered in full within the latest edition of France Football, the voting details for this year’s Ballon d’Or award have been released.

England’s representing journalist, Henry Winter of The Times, voted for Chelsea midfielder Jorginho to be this year’s winner with the eventual winner, Lionel Messi, in second and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah in fifth. Paul Kennedy of Soccer America, the USA’s representative, picked Messi for first and Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski second. Meanwhile, France Football‘s own Pascal Ferré opted for Lewandowski first, Messi second and Karim Benzema third.

Interestingly, there were some more left field votes. Picks for first place were largely split between those mentioned above plus Cristiano Ronaldo and N’Golo Kanté but Brazil’s Cléber Machado and Iceland’s Vidir Sigurdsson opted for Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne. Meanwhile, Poland’s Maciej Iwanski and Gambia’s Momodou Bah placed Denmark’s Simon Kjaer in fifth (as did Denmark’s own Troels Bager Thogersen), Passang Norbu of Bhutan elected for Manchester City’s Phil Foden for fourth and Foden’s team mate Ruben Dias made Raju Ghising of Nepal’s top five. Mason Mount placed third for Togo’s Mathias Ayena and second for Uzbekistan’s Grigoriy Rtveladze. Perhaps the most eclectic top five came from Alexander Vershinin of Turkmenistan who followed Messi with De Bruyne, Inter strikers Lautaro Martínez and Romelu Lukaku as well as Barcelona’s Pedri in fifth.


Get Football+

More European Football News