Full list | Didier Deschamps announces France squad for June fixtures

France national team manager Didier Deschamps has revealed on Wednesday afternoon his squad for June’s Euro 2024 qualifiers. Chelsea centre-back Wesley Fofana (22) has been called up by Deschamps. The Marseille-born player had to pull out of the latest France’s squad through injury back in March, but the former Leicester City centre-back made the cut this time.

The squad notably sees the absence absence of Nice midfielder Khéphren Thuram (22) through injury. Deschamps’ France stalwarts N’Golo Kanté (32) and Paul Pogba (30) are unavailable for the same reason.

RB Leipzig striker Christopher Nkunku (25) and Barcelona striker Ousmane Dembélé (26) are back in the France squad. The former PSG youth product was called up by Deschamps for the World Cup but he sustained an injury during a training session in Qatar. Nkunku looked back to his very best with Leipzig whilst Dembélé has seen his playing time increase with Barcelona recently.

The squad will convene on June 9th at Clairefontaine. West Ham goalkeeper Alphonse Areola (30) is the only France international to feature in an European final this season – the Hammers will face Fiorentina on June 7th at Prague.

France are in the driving seat for their Euro 2024 qualifiers. They lead Group B courtesy of their wins against The Netherlands (4-0) and Ireland (1-0). Les Bleus will face Gibraltar in Faro on June 16th and host Greece three days later at the Stade de France.

Didier Deschamps France squad to face Gibraltar and Greece

Goalkeepers: Alphonse Areola (West Ham), Mike Maignan (AC Milan), Brice Samba (Lens)

Defenders: Axel Disasi (Monaco), Wesley Fofana (Chelsea), Theo Hernandez (AC Milan), Ibrahima Konaté (Liverpool), Jules Koundé (Barcelona), Ferland Mendy (Real Madrid), Benjamin Pavard (Bayern Munich), Dayot Upamecano (Bayern Munich)

Midfielders: Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid), Youssouf Fofana (Monaco), Adrien Rabiot (Juventus), Aurélien Tchouaméni (Real Madrid), Antoine Griezmann (Atlético Madrid)

Forwards: Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich), Ousmane Dembélé (Barcelona), Olivier Giroud (AC Milan), Marcus Thuram (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Randal Kolo Muani (Frankfurt), Kylian Mbappé (PSG), Christopher Nkunku (RB Leipzig)

GFFN | Bastien Cheval

More European Football News