Lyon women crowned French champions for 17th time after victory over PSG

Olympique Lyonnais were crowned champions of France for the 17th time after they defeated Paris Saint-Germain on Friday night, a victory that means Les Fenottes remain undefeated across all competitions against their northern rivals this season. 

Early goals from Delphine Cascarino and Kadidiatou Diani were enough for Lyon to see off a spirited Paris Saint-Germain fightback. A late Tabitha Chawinga strike provided some hope for Les Parisiennes but in the end, it wasn’t enough as the title once again went to Lyon. 

A lot has changed in the year since Lyon were crowned champions. Not least, a reformatted league meant that a playoff format would pit the two biggest teams in France against each other in a winner-take-all final game. 

However, this title would also be the first for Lyon since their former president Jean-Michel Aulas resigned from his position. New ownership did not deliver a new result, as PSG are forced to wait another year to take a crack at Lyon’s dominance. 

GFFN | Nick Hartland

More European Football News